top of page

Saying Goodbye to Lanni De Langavant


Lanni de Langavant, Power of the Dragon co-founder

Credit Photo: Betty Esperanza

As I sit here trying to think of something clever and meaningful to write, I realize that saying goodbye is really hard to do. Lanni De Langavant, one of Power of the Dragon founders died suddenly at the age of 85 and we are all still in shock. It was only a couple of weeks ago that we all signed up to do our last race at Cedars Dragonboat Festival and we made sure each paddler was attending.

 

Let me tell you a little bit about Lanni De Langavant, Mother, Dragon and friend. I met Lanni 3 years ago when I joined the team. She actually sat next to me in the boat and without hesitation told me how to hold my paddle. She instructed me and then whispered, "It's okay if you splash someone after all it's a water sport. You will learn it fast enough." She was a serious paddler and tried to make every practice. She didn't want to miss out even when she wasn't feeling well. She made the effort to be part of the team to keep the team spirit alive.

Credit Photo: Betty Esperanza

Some of our paddlers have been on this team for over 18 years and they are respected by the dragon boat community. Most are cancer survivors and caregivers. Power of the Dragon is under the umbrella of the 22 Dragons Club.

President, Matt Robert wrote about Lanni as he learned of her passing:

"The first email I saw this morning was forwarded to me by Caroline Galipeau, the sad news of Lanni passing. I have known Lanni since her first day paddling. She was part of the core group on Power of the Dragon that helped me learn more about life. I was a young coach teaching paddling to a group of amazing women and they in turn taught me more than I could ever hope for. They took me under their wings. They saw a young man who could use the guidance of people who had lived and learn themselves. They helped me mature and grasp life much quicker than I would have done on my own. I am forever grateful towards the Power of the Dragon and Lanni. She will be missed by our club. "

Some quotes from our team members:

"On behalf of our team I wish to convey our deepest sympathies to you, your siblings and your father. As Betty said earlier, Lanni will be missed terribly.

I am in shock and deeply saddened by your mom's passing. As chairperson I feel a certain responsibility for all these ladies and they all have a special place in my heart Your mother, as one of our founders was an inspiration to all of us. Lately I realized that it was a struggle sometimes for her to make every practice but show up she did, what team spirit!

She was so looking forward to our next race at Cedars on September 9. Needless to say, our day at Cedars and our race will be dedicated to her.

I was browsing through my pictures and came across some special ones with your mom and am including these here. I'm hoping that these will bring your family some comfort in knowing that she belonged to a team that cherished her contribution and she was doing something she so enjoyed.

Ghislaine, I'm not sure if your family is planning a private service but I know that our members would like to pay our respects to Lanni. Please let us know the best way we can do this and if there is any way I can be of help,

Sincerely,"

Isabel Pereira, Co-Chair of Power of the Dragon

--

"I have only returned back to work this a.m. and truly saddened by the news of Lanni’s passing. She was a sweetheart, always arriving to paddle with the biggest warm smile ready to go. It always made me even happier to be there ! I will always cherish the chats we had.

My deepest and heartfelt sympathies to her family on the loss of a treasure of lady we were so fortunate to be have among us. "

Patricia Crowley, Power of the Dragon

--

"Just recently Lanni mentioned she is the eldest paddler on our team and there from its foundation. A real trooper no matter how she felt she worked hard and pushed herself along with the rest of us, to do a good job of paddling. We will miss her and hopefully have a commemoration one day for the special ladies which we have lost. We must send condolences to her husband for whom she was a rock."

Sandra Sterling, Power of the Dragon

--

"It must be a hard time for her husband.

I remember seeing how she took care of him during our last race.

Feel very sad for this."

Aijing Zhang, Power of the Dragon

--

Caroline Galipeau, Coach of Power of the Dragon:

"Had the pleasure of coaching Lanni for the last couple of years. She was a pillar of PoD, from the begining of their story, through the tougher years, and finally witnessing the rebirth of her dear team this season, as a new influx of members brought back the flame... which she had never lost. Thoughts for her family and her fellow paddlers. There will always be a seat for her in our boat."

--

Saying goodbye to someone who had so much impact in her community and family is not easy. Lanni was an inspiration to many as she volunteered often at St.Mary's Hospital, Red Cross or Montreal Symphony Orchestra. You could count on her generosity , integrity and no nonsense advice. After all, her name De Langavant translates to language of before or before language. She spoke directly and with truthfulness. She had a strong sense of community and she was dedicated to making a difference.

We extend our deepest heartfelt condolences to Lanni's family and friends and we are here to carry on Lanni's memory every time we paddle. She will never be forgotten. Lanni is the heart of POWER OF THE DRAGON.

Our next and last race of the season is Saturday, September 9th, and we invite you to join us for our 12th Annual Dragon Boat Race and Festival on Saturday.

This special day will be dedicated to the memory of Lanni. A very touching flower ceremony with cancer survivors and caregivers will be performed at the end of the races.

It is free entrance and you are welcome to our tent. Information on how to get there is on the website here:

Credit Photo: Betty Esperanza

Donations in form of a check can be made out to: Power of the Dragon team in memory of Lanni De Langavant. Address: 7679 6th avenue, Montreal, Quebec. H2A 3G1 ( No tax receipts are issued. An invoice will be issued only.)

Follow us often on our social media : Just click the links!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page